Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 18th, 2009

Cashew Chicken

I tried my new Cashew Chicken recipe again last week and I am pretty pleased with how it turned out! 

October 18 009

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 T. cornstarch
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/2 c. soy sauce
  • 1-2 T. oil
  • 1 lb. chicken breasts, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 c. cashews, roughly chopped
  • 2-3 c. veggies (I used green beans)

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, combine the sugar, cornstarch, water and soy sauce and stir until smooth; set aside.
  2. In a skillet, cook chicken until no longer pink (2-3 min.?)
  3. While cooking chicken, lightly steam veggies until crisp-tender.
  4. Stir in soy sauce mixture. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. **The liquid must be brought to a boil in order for the cornstarch to act as a thickening agent.  Continue stirring and cooking until desired thickness.
  5. Stir in cashews and veggies.
  6. Serve over rice.

Read Full Post »

My Rite Aid Money Makers!

I finally got a chance to head over to Rite Aid and do some great deals on Friday before babysitting and I am super pumped about what all I got!

Transaction #1: Total OOP: $12.33

October 18 013

  • 4 Herbal Essences Shampoo or Conditioner: $2.50 ea – (4)$1/1 cpns = $6.00
  • 2 Herbal Essences Stylers: $2.50 ea – (2) “Free styler w/ purchase of shampoo or conditioner = FREE
  • 3 Oral-B Flossers: $2.49 ea – (3) $1/1 cpns = $3.47
  • 3 Oral-B Toothbrushes: $2.49 ea – (3) $.75/1 cpns = $5.22
  • 1 Scope Breath Mist: $1.99 – $.35/1 cpn = $1.64
  • Used $5/$25 Rite Aid cpn

= $31.93 Before Coupons, Paid $12.33 OOP, Will receive $10 Rite Aid Giftcard and also another $5 for the Fall Gift of Savings Program

…so, including giftcards, I will have received all of this for FREE plus made a profit of $2.67!  Yay!

Oh and I almost forgot, I will be submitting this receipt for the FREE PINK cookware set (includes: a 10″ saute, 4 measuring cups, rubber spatula, and pink ribbon timer) for purchasing $25 of P&G brand products.  Can’t beat freebies, right?

Transaction #2: Total OOP= $7.94

October 18 011

  • 1 Beyond BodiHeat Ache Relief Pads: $2.99
  • 1 Sucrets Throat Drops: $2.99
  • 1 Comtrex Cold Relief: $3.99
  • 1 Airwick compact air freshener: 4.99- $4/1 cpn = $.99
  • 1 Airwick ultra air freshener: 6.99- $6/1 cpn = $.99
  • 2 Dove Chocolate Bars: $.88 ea – (2) FREE MARS BAR coupons = FREE
  • 3  “>Reeses fun size 8 pks: $.88 ea – (3) $.55/1 cpns = $.99
  • Used $5/$25 cpn

= $26.35Before Coupons, Paid $7.94 OOP, Will a receive $9.97 SCRand also another $5 for the Fall Gift of Savings Program

…so, including SCR and GoS giftcard, I will have received all of this for FREE plus made a profit of $7.03! 

THE BEST PART OF THIS DEAL….

…..I used my SCR from August (14.49) and the remainder of my $25 GC (from the Razor Deal a few months back) to pay for these purchases so I didn’t have to dip into my grocery budget AT ALL!  Basically it is a win-win-win-win situation….gotta love that!

Read Full Post »

Yay! It’s fixed!

Well, I don’t know how many of you had trouble reading my blog because of some layout issues over the past few days, but it was DRIVING ME CRAZY!!  Anyway, I finally found the issue and was able to fix it!  In the process I tried many new themes for my blog and found one that I really like….I hope you like the new look!  I have lots of posting to do now that I can stand to look at my blog again!  Check back soon for lots of great couponing deals and a YUMMY recipe!

Read Full Post »

Moist Coffee Cake

October 13 009 

This is my FAVORITE coffee cake recipe!  I made it several years ago and it came to mind when I was brainstorming a good choice for October Treats at work (each month, two people bring treats as a little celebration for birthdays).  I have already eaten two pieces of this deliciously moist cake!  I had to finally put the lid on the dish because it was just too tempting!

Ingredients:

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package yellow cake mix
  • 1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 (3.4 ounce) package instant butterscotch pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (I skipped this since it was going to school)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, and butterscotch pudding mix. Add the eggs, oil and water, mix until well blended. In another bowl, stir together the brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts. Pour half of the batter into the pan, spread evenly. Sprinkle with half of the nut mixture. Cover with the rest of the batter, and sprinkle with the rest of the nut mixture.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, then turn the oven down to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) and bake for an additional 30 to 35 minutes.

**Keep this cake well covered.  Once it is cut it will begin to get dry on any uncovered edges.  I will have to cut a thin strip off the cut edge tomorrow morning before taking the rest to work…I suppose I could eat a little more in the morning…. 🙂

Read Full Post »